Help me hold on

Hello my dear readers!

Today I want to share with you a beautiful voice and a wonderful song. Released in 1990, “Help me hold on” is a song written and sang by Travis Tritt.

Travis Tritt is an american actor, songwriter and country music singer. His music is beautiful and goes straight to your heart. As a result of his good work, he has received two Grammy Awards.

The song is a ballad which reveals a failing relationship. The narrator confesses his mistakes to his lover and begs her not to leave him. He asks her to pinpoint his faults and promises to listen to her this time. He admits being wrong for taking her love for granted. Taking your love for granted is so dangerous in a relationship. You fail to properly appreciate someone dear to you, mainly because you became so familiar with each other. Therefore, you stop trying, you stop showing how much you love him/her. This is such a shame.

Listen here to the song and below I’ve written down the lyrics.

Baby, close that suitcase you’ve been packin’
Just sit down and talk to me awhile
I know you tried to tell me what was lackin’
But I guess I must have missed it by a mile

 

Well, this time girl I swear to you I’ll listen
Help me understand where I went wrong
It’s hard to find myself in this position
Scared that I’ll go crazy once you’re gone

 

Help me hold on to what we had
Once our love was strong, it can be again
You said it takes two to make love last
You were right all along, so help me hold on

 

What have I got to do to make it better
What have I got to do to make you see
That even though I promised you forever
I never knew how hard that would be

 

I realize I took your love for granted
But I’ve learned that love worth having don’t come free
And I’ll pay any price it takes to keep you
Satisfied and staying here with me

 

Help me hold on to what we had
Once our love was strong, it can be again
You said it takes two to make love last
You were right all along, so help me hold on
Leave a Reply

