My London experience

My first time in London was, as a matter a fact, my first time visiting a foreign country. I still remember the overwhelming emotions and the nice and helpful people I came into contact. It’s all coming back to me now. I recall it like it was yesterday. Here I was, a 19 years old frightened girl in a strange and scary big city. Days have past and, I slowly started loving London to the point that I could never leave it behind.

Starting university in London was a last-minute decision, influenced mainly by my parents, who didn’t see a future for me in my home country. Thank you mom and dad for convincing me, even though it must have been hard for you to see you oldest daughter making a life for herself among strangers. However, most of the times we’ve talked on Skype you could tell I was satisfied with the city that adopted me. I made friends for life in here, I’ve studied hard and graduated with a good grade, I have worked part-time because I knew it will be an incredible financial sacrifice for you to support me here. You see, I love London so much now that I will carry on with my studies right here, I’ll do something different but somehow connected to my degree. Most things in life are connected, you just need to see the bigger picture.

I’m writing this for those of you who are at a turning point in life, those who have to make a big decision that’s gonna impact your life from now on. I’m also hoping my little sisters will read this and start believing in themselves a bit more. I know how important and helpful it is to have someone you could ask about the student life in London. I am just returning a favor; I also had my ‘mentors’ who helped me embrace this new experience. Another reason behind sharing my experience with you is to demonstrate everything is possible if you believe in yourself, if you follow your dreams no matter what life might throw at you.

The beginning is always hard but, it’s all worth it in the end. I look at all my friends I made here and I can see them happy. We have not accomplished all our dreams yet, but I believe we are on the right track. I was alone when I started my university journey. On the way, strangers joined me and I joined them. Now, I have a feeling that these people who once were strangers, will become friends for life.

I have a brilliant life now and I am grateful for that every single day. I am pleased with my family because they never gave up on me, even in my most stubborn moments. I am happy with my old and new friends because we support each other no matter the situation. In good or bad times we would always be there for each other, in any way we can. I am lucky I had the opportunity to study in a big capital, one that broadened my horizons and taught me to look at things from many different perspectives before making the right decision. Obviously, my London experience included a few tough times. But, as I said before, my stubbornness and determination helped me overcome them. Always think about your family and the sacrifices they made for you to be where you are now and, everything is going to turn out just fine.

For you, I can only hope the best in everything you’ll try to achieve. Good luck and remember to stay strong because it’s not going to be an easy journey at all. Joan River, an American actress, comedian and writer, once said:

Part of my act is meant to shake you up. It looks like I’m being funny, but I’m reminding you of other things. Life is tough, darling. Life is hard. And we better laugh at everything; otherwise, we’re going down the tube.

* Listen to this song to remind you about the beauty of life. 

Leave a Reply

