Flat 15 (2)

Sy is the first person I’ve met when I moved in flat 15 in January. A few weeks later, he slowly became more than a uni flatmate, he became a very good friend. He knows this, but my first impression of him wasn’t really good. He was polite and helped me with my luggage but, he would spend days in his room playing video games (COD, Batman, etc.).

For me, that was a bit annoying because I started all over again in a new flat and I wanted to make friends. My plan? Join him in ‘The Gaming Room’. Seriously, I have learned how to kill zombies and how to fly. I had to quit soon since it was really addictive and I had a dissertation to write at the time.

One thing you need to know about Sy: he loves to share his knowledge about everything and everyone; in this situation he loved teaching me, and later my good friend, how to play video games. Another thing Sy shared with me is Eminem’s life. I would have never guessed I will become such a big Eminem fan.

I appreciate him because he is one of the people who encourages me to keep this blog alive and never give up on my dreams, as stupid as they may sound to other people. Even more, he always lets me know when I am being insensible towards others and especially towards the people I love. I thank him because that has helped me a lot in assessing my behavior and in making my close friends feel valued. No one is perfect, I know I am not perfect but he is definitely helping me to become a better person.

The funniest part about our friendship is the fact that we always have something to talk about and we often have small debates on different topics. Like everyone else in this crazy flat, we are arrogant, stubborn and opinionated. When we get along with each other is so much fun and joy. But when we don’t, sh*t is going down. Sometimes things can get ‘aggressive’, but they are honest mistakes; like the time when he elbowed me in the lip and I had to go to a festival and wear red lipstick to cover it.

Sy is really kind and a hopeless romantic. I can say he inspires me to write most things on my blog. Because of him, now I see men in a different light, discover their soft, feminine parts and I can take into account all perspective of a situation.

I am very lucky to have you as my friend, Sy.

* Next story is going to be about the one flatmate I consider to be the ‘joker’ of Flat 15.

Leave a Reply

